21 teams compete as Malaybalay hosts national Frisbee meet

MALAYBALAY CITY (Bukidnon News/16 February) The Malaybalay City Government recognized the Malaybalay Ultimate Team (MaUT) during the Second Monday Convocation Program held last Monday, February 13, for hosting a successful tournament recently and emerging as champion of their bracket.

The team, under the supervision of the Malaybalay Ultimate Frisbee Association (MUFA) organized a national ultimate frisbee tournament dubbed “4th Love Ultimate: Kabayaan Ko Ikaw” (I love you), last February 4 to 5 at the Capitol grounds.

The Malaybalay City Government along with Bukidnon 2nd district Rep. Florencio T. Flores, the  Bukidnon Provincial Government, and several companies helped made the event possible, said Ma. Grace Jonah Ronolo, MUFA president.

“We are satisfied of the large number of participants [about 450 registered players], the turn-out of the games, awarding and socials night,” said Ronolo. She added that among the memorable experiences of the participants in Malaybalay was the cool weather, called ‘centralized aircon’.

The tournament saw 21 competing teams from all over the country. Participants started arriving on Thursday. On Friday evening, February 3, a Captains’ Meeting was held at Amadeo’s Steak House.

The teams were divided into three brackets [A, B and C] according to their level of expertise base on their record of achievements, said Ronolo. Player format used per team was 4:3 (male: female).

With seven teams per bracket, the tournament kicked off with elimination round using round robin system with time limit of 40 minutes per game and race to 11 points, event marshals said. The top four teams per bracket competed for the semifinals, 45 minutes race to 13 points and during championship time limit was one hour and 20 minutes as teams race to 15points.

During championship in bracket A, Chicago Bulls (merge Team Pilipinas, players from Manila and Cebu) won over Aciddus (Municipality of Jasaan) with 13-9. Fighting for third were Davao Disc Squad/DDS (winner) and Mulatto (Davao City), 10-7.


In bracket B Impulse United (Cebu City) and Ultimate Green Archers/UGA (Iligan City) were neck-and-neck fighting for first with 15-14 in favour of Impulse United. Team Gecko of Iligan City followed as second runner-up after defeating the Dipolog Ultimate Bloc/DUB (Dipolog City), 11-7.


Between Chilli Infernos (Iloilo City) versus MaUT in bracket C, MaUT won championship with 15-5. Emerging as third was Ultimate Dagkot of Municipality of Cabadbaran and Ultimate Tribu of Gingoog as fourth (Gingoog City).


Ultimate is a non-contact sport played with a disc in a rectangular shaped field (70 yards by 40 yards) with endzones at each end (25 yards deep) with seven players per team– taken from Ultimate in 10 simple rules, Philippine Ultimate Association site (www.philippineultimate.org).


It’s unique in a way that ‘self-refereeing’ is applied– players are responsible for their own foul and line calls. Players resolve their own disputes (www.philippineultimate.org). The spirit of the games stresses sportsmanship and fair play. (Bukidnon News)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: